vin diesel’s at it again

I have a confession to make: I like every single Vin Diesel movie unironically.  I was all-in on the Fast movies before it became a thing to love them (for example, #1 is legitimately my favorite).  I’ve seen Chronicles of Riddick (director’s cut only, please) more times than I should admit.  Enjoyed The Pacifier, A Man Apart, Babylon A.D., and (if you can believe it) Find Me Guilty.  His movies range from “mediocre” to “pretty good” but he is AWESOME in all of them.  Fact is, Vin Diesel is so freaking good at being Vin Diesel.

The funny part is I live in Los Angeles and have friends that work in film.  They recommend all kinds of highly touted movies to me and I spend my time watching movies like this one above.  I appreciate film as an art form and can understand which movies are okay and which are “brilliant” by film people’s standards.  But I just don’t care.

I can’t even explain my own film preference.  Here are some recent examples:

  • Whiplash – didn’t see it, don’t care about it
  • Age of Ultron – okay but pretty boring
  • Guardians of the Galaxy – kid stuff but still pretty good
  • That Awkward Moment – just okay but still saw it 2.5 times
  • Birdman – didn’t see it, don’t care
  • Coffee Town – pretty funny
  • Horrible Bosses – fucking stupid
  • The Change-Up – two funny parts but pretty bad
  • Both Planet of the Apes – didn’t see but looked fucking stupid
  • Edge of Tomorrow – awesome
  • Hobbit movies – fucking boring
  • John Wick – awesome
  • Harry Potter movies – stupid ass kid shit
  • Let’s Be Cops – pretty funny
  • Newest X-Men movie – didn’t see it / stupid ass kid shit
  • Secret Life of Walter Mitty – borderline hippie nonsense but still liked it
  • Rush – awesome
  • Game of Thrones – fucking stupid
  • True Detective Season 1 – fucking awesome; didn’t even start season 2
  • Silicon Valley – liked season 1, season 2 ep 1 was funny but quit watching after it
  • Veep – watched seasons 1-3 and like it, never tried season 4
  • Les Miserables – didn’t see it; looked like shit
  • Lone Survivor – pretty good but only for one time
  • Theory of Everything – didn’t see it, don’t care
  • Gone Girl – didn’t see it, don’t care
This entry was posted in culture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

