shocker of the century: me being an asshole irritated someone

In response to my post about the new Rogue One trailer, another blogger decided to write a rebuttal to every point I made.

Here’s the link.

Now is this the part where I respond to the response?  Go point by point and show how each of his point by points are wrong and I am right? *

Uh, no.  First of all, that would directly conflict with my proclamation in my original post that I don’t care.  Well… maybe even writing this means that I care?  Shit.

Second of all, when I read it, I thought, “Eh, that’s probably fair.”

Lesson for everyone out there: when you write a post at 1 a.m. that’s essentially a rant instead of a well-thought-out piece, you can’t really get too upset when someone lampoons it.  Don’t worry, I’m not backing off my opinions at all, but I am saying there is a definite tongue-in-cheek nature to that post.  Many things in it are obviously hyperbole and some things are just outright silly jokes.

“But, Harm, what do you really think about these things?” asked no one.

I’m glad you asked.  Specifically related to Star Wars I’ve written a couple of posts (Part 1 and Part 2) that people who didn’t like my Rogue One rant would be well-served to read.  True, there may be some debate as to whether these two posts qualify as “well-thought-out”, “intelligent”, or even “literate” but one thing for sure is they are definitely longer.  In them, you’ll find better vocabulary, less objectification of women, more opinions that people probably think are sexist (e.g., what is a social construct and what isn’t), and certainly more typos. **

 

* And yes, that’s a terrible sentence.

** No guarantees about the objectification thing.

This entry was posted in movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to shocker of the century: me being an asshole irritated someone

  1. darthtimon says:

    One small point – I am a ‘he’ rather than a ‘she’.

Leave a Reply

